!!

Welcome to Two Track Music

Guest/Visitor, welcome to the Two Track Music forum area.  If you're not yet a member here, just click the Register link above to sign up.  It's free, quick, and relatively easy.

Once registered, you will be able to post anywhere in the forums, create topics, ask questions, show off your music, and collaborate with other members to create a new song or musical piece.

You will also be able to view post attachments, which are usually songs in progress or completed songs.  And, you'll have access to our TTM Articles section, which contains a variety of articles on software, hardware, mixing, mastering, and many other topics.  The forum Search option will also be available to you once registered.

Two Track Music is a somewhat 'laid back' community.  Just some good musicians and song writers hanging out, and having a good time.  We're not a high pressure or fast paced site, we just enjoy kicking back and making some music, and having fun while we're doing it.

If that sounds like your kind of place, please join us.  We'd love to have you in the mix.  And yes, pun intended... ;)

Additional Menu

TTM Shoutbox

Last 15 Shouts:

 

kevmsmith81

November 08, 2019, 07:43:09 PM
Yeah he's not signed in for over a month.  Is he on any other sites that people know of?
 

whitestrat73

November 05, 2019, 04:34:54 PM
Hasn't replied to a couple of emails. I'm getting worried for him......
 

Dino

November 05, 2019, 12:57:28 PM
I wonder if Joom is okay.  Its been a while now :(
 

neilmac

November 05, 2019, 01:59:41 AM
GRRRRRRRRR
Just sayin'  >:(
 

DJKTRox

November 02, 2019, 07:23:58 PM
I am now using AVG Secure browser and its not happening with that one...

RedJoker

October 28, 2019, 05:57:44 PM
For me, I just blocked JavaScript for this site and the livestat thing went away.
 

agradeleous

October 27, 2019, 06:18:53 PM
Nope its just a figment of your imagination.
for some reason using opera on W10 pc its not there . it does however only show on TTM using Android for me that is and Yes its Bloody annoying so I hope it spreads why should we have all the fun . LOL
 

DJKTRox

October 26, 2019, 08:18:26 PM
Anyone figured out the livestats thingy yet? Kinda annoying...  ::) damn computer gremlins!
 

Gazebo

October 26, 2019, 08:34:42 AM
I'm still getting the "Livestat" pages moving between items on the site and Chrome is telling me that the site is "Not Secure".  Is it my end or a site issue?  Has anyone found a way to overcome?
 

Smurf

October 24, 2019, 12:42:59 AM
Yo Spiral!  8)
 

whitestrat73

October 23, 2019, 01:24:39 PM
Hey!
 

Spiral

October 22, 2019, 03:59:15 PM
Terve!
 

agradeleous

October 12, 2019, 05:22:46 PM
I finally was able to log in on my phone a second ago I couldn't last night kept saying wrong password .
Logging in just a minute ago kind of took a few minutes. Anywho .😑
 

kevmsmith81

October 12, 2019, 10:33:55 AM
I get it on both my phone and my laptop, so it must be an issue with the site.
 

agradeleous

October 11, 2019, 10:06:57 PM
I just back page . We should keep this on tread “ things we only should know “
Thanks ;)

Show 50 latest
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 19, 2019, 06:27:00 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Internet through mains  (Read 4155 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2153
  • Karma: 6
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #15 on: October 20, 2016, 08:59:26 PM »
Just wanted it for audio (wave) file uploads. In Spain, I moved the files to the 'utility' machine to upload.

Shouldn't you be fitting a new water heater/fixing a blower or something....?
 :P :P :P
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Offline Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 3984
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #16 on: October 20, 2016, 09:18:12 PM »
Shouldn't you be fitting a new water heater/fixing a blower or something....?
 :P :P :P

Actually, I was supposed to be working on insulating and sealing up the basement while the wife is away, but I've been slacking busy doing other things...  ::->
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Online whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2153
  • Karma: 6
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #17 on: October 20, 2016, 09:38:32 PM »
 )(?

 :P :P :P
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Offline Schprocket

  • One day, I will get a Round Tuit...
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Posts: 1646
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
    • Heartat.this
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #18 on: October 21, 2016, 11:25:31 AM »
Internet-over-mains works OK, WS, but you have to remember two things...

1. "Standard" may not be "Standard" - whichever manufacturer you go with, you're sort of stuck with for expansion to other rooms...

2. ... but only on that circuit. Not sure how your houses are wired in the UK (rings mains with fused appliances rather than a meter board with circuit breakers seems to ring a bell...) but here we tend to have at least two power circuits and two lighting circuits on the average sized house. This means that if I plug the EOP converter into the Mains nearest the router, I can only get to half of my house.

Ended up getting sparkies that do data and telecom installs to run Cat 5 through the roof... the missus didn't want to spend for just a couple more points but then she complains when her WiFi craps itself - the WiFi router has a nasty habit of hanging more often (say once every 6 to 8 weeks) because it carries her PC, all mobile devices, and a couple of printers. Silly girl.. but who am I to argue when my stuff all works? :)

If you can bury some 20mm conduit in the ground and don't mind drilling a few holes in walls, copper is always the better way to go. If not, I'd say go with the EOP... just be prepared to run a bit of Cat 5 across the carpet if the shed's on a different circuit... P.S. None of them like power board, they want their own socket.
This is part-BS and part-true. It may work, but rather than be sued by people too stupid to read "may not work with all power boards" most manufacturers won't guarantee they'll work.

Now, if you have a piggy back plug fitted to the power board's lead, that doesn't seem to bother it... done that too :)

J-man's out in the boonies where there's bugger all RFI except whatever he generates and the CIA mind-reading waves that Trump says Obama has aimed at J's house, screwing with his wireless internet... :D

If you live in the burbs and people run 2.6GHz remote controls or even wireless speaker systems nearby, those can swamp your signal. I can vouch for the wireless speaker set since it screwed my own wifi signal - end result, no wireless speakers... And let's not even get into the Ham radio enthusiast with his own satellite uplink - he'll even be screwing with your audio gear if he's being a bit naughty with his transmission power...
« Last Edit: October 21, 2016, 11:33:12 AM by Schprocket »

Love is all you need...

Offline Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 3984
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #19 on: October 21, 2016, 01:00:36 PM »
Good writeup, S.  Lots of good info.  But that's why you have multiple frequencies and channels to play with on wireless.

I'm well away from interference out here, but in the businesses I work with, especially hotels that exceed 1,000 feet in length, there's a lot of interference both from neighboring businesses' wireless and equipment, as well as from internal equipment.  Being able to use both/either 2.4GHz and 5GHz, and set the router's/AP's channel to eliminate most of that interference, among other things, generally allows pretty good service.  Also, forget about B and G these days, and concentrate mostly on at least N if not the latest AC.  Considering, of course, backward compatibility with older devices.

But when bolts comes to nuts, you can't beat a straight CAT5/6 connection when necessary.  There are lots of new toys to use, but being old and set in my ways I always employ KISS whenever possible...  (-!)
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Online whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2153
  • Karma: 6
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #20 on: October 21, 2016, 06:24:24 PM »
Lots of good info, S, and J......  8)
All breakers, here. Lighting separate. Sadly, the lounge sockets are separate to the rest of the house...... so, looks like wifi.
To be honest, Internet isn't a must, in the studio, just thought it might be nice.
I have a dongle for the TV, maybe that will work?
Tied up with acoustics, right now. Trying to get my sound absorbtion panels in the right places...... Something like roulette....  ;D

 (-!)
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Offline Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 3984
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #21 on: October 21, 2016, 06:46:55 PM »
White, what kind of router do you have?  Brand, model, etc?  And what kind of internet connection?  Cable, DSL, Satellite, Antenna?
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Online whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2153
  • Karma: 6
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #22 on: October 21, 2016, 07:45:16 PM »
Now you're asking.... LOL

Best send you to see for yourself..... http://devices.dslshop.co.uk/product_details.aspx?idProduct=35

'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Offline Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 3984
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #23 on: October 21, 2016, 08:00:22 PM »
Hard to believe there's a router I haven't worked with, but I've never seen that one.

But, from reading the description it appears to be a pretty standard dual band router.  I can't imagine that, even three rooms away, you're not getting a decent signal from it in your studio.  I would question your wi-fi adapter on that computer.

However, if that's the case, why don't you just get the antenna linked below, set it somewhere in your office (pointed toward your router in the other room), install the drivers, plug it into your computer USB port, and be online?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Outdoor-Long-Range-USB-150Mbps-Wifi-Wireless-Adapter-Antenna-10m-Cable-/121846313372?hash=item1c5e9b319c:g:pScAAOSw5IJWeS7E

If you can't get a decent signal 50 feet away through 3-4 walls with that, something is seriously wrong somewhere...
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Online whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2153
  • Karma: 6
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #24 on: October 21, 2016, 09:30:30 PM »
Errr.... The studio computer doesn't have a wifi adapter!
That's the whole point of this, wifi or cable...... What meds are you on, Boss....  :P :P :P :P
 )(?
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Offline Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 3984
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #25 on: October 21, 2016, 10:05:22 PM »
 :o :o :o

I don't know how I missed that, but that explains some of the questions.  ::)

I use mini adapters like this all the time in systems:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/300Mbps-Mini-USB-Wireless-WiFi-Adapter-802-11n-g-b-LAN-Internet-Network-Adapter-/181484620068?hash=item2a41538924:g:6xgAAOSwpDdVB2YC

And that would probably work fine for you.  Otherwise, if there's still a question, then the one I linked to first.

In any case, unless you're going to be doing lots of large file transfers between your studio computer and your other computers, then go wireless with an inexpensive adapter.  No question.  Cheap, simple, easy, done...
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Online whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2153
  • Karma: 6
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #26 on: October 22, 2016, 11:06:53 AM »
OK, so I bought one of these, locally.... http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/1420579.htm
Sorted!  8)
Yup, plenty fast enough.....  ;D

Also, swapped to the new 'puter, swapped to new screen (both work now).  ;)

Now to plane off the bottom of the door, so it'll close over the new carpet, I fitted.....   >:(

Then fit ceiling foam and rear wall panels......  :-X

Then crack a can.....
 (-!)
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Offline Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 3984
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #27 on: October 22, 2016, 11:28:59 AM »
Glad to hear you got it sorted, White.  And yup, when problem solving I'm always a fan of "KISS" and "Occam's razor".  Save the high tech answers for when simple doesn't work.  ;)

New 'puter, new screen, new carpet, ability to close your door, new ceiling and panels......... you're living the high life mate.  Very cool, and good to hear that you're getting settled in.  By next week you should be back to making killer songs again, eh?  8)

And have a can for me...  (-!)
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Online whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2153
  • Karma: 6
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #28 on: October 22, 2016, 04:39:14 PM »
All panels up and rearing to go...... Gonna get the Printer onto wi-fi next, no room in here...  ;D

Quote
And have a can for me... 
I'm doing that now, Boss!  ~:)
Then I'd better have one for all the other guys here, I guess....  ::)

 (-!) (-!) (-!)
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73