!!

Welcome to Two Track Music

Guest/Visitor, welcome to the Two Track Music forum area.  If you're not yet a member here, just click the Register link above to sign up.  It's free, quick, and relatively easy.

Once registered, you will be able to post anywhere in the forums, create topics, ask questions, show off your music, and collaborate with other members to create a new song or musical piece.

You will also be able to view post attachments, which are usually songs in progress or completed songs.  And, you'll have access to our TTM Articles section, which contains a variety of articles on software, hardware, mixing, mastering, and many other topics.  The forum Search option will also be available to you once registered.

Two Track Music is a somewhat 'laid back' community.  Just some good musicians and song writers hanging out, and having a good time.  We're not a high pressure or fast paced site, we just enjoy kicking back and making some music, and having fun while we're doing it.

If that sounds like your kind of place, please join us.  We'd love to have you in the mix.  And yes, pun intended... ;)

Additional Menu

TTM Shoutbox

Last 15 Shouts:

 

Joom

July 04, 2020, 09:00:21 PM
It has been Gaz, a real blast...
 

Gazebo

July 04, 2020, 08:11:09 PM
I guess its time to move over. Thanks Joom.  It's been a blast..
 

neilmac

June 29, 2020, 10:19:03 PM
Important info in Things Only We Should Know.... just sayin'  8)
 

neilmac

June 29, 2020, 04:58:17 AM
Yup...famous last words lol
 

neilmac

June 28, 2020, 05:31:33 AM
I think it's all sorted  :D
(Famous last words)
 

neilmac

June 27, 2020, 07:31:48 PM
I think PapaG hacked my account  :P
 

Gazebo

June 26, 2020, 04:57:44 PM
Well, I can vouch that you didn't give it to me...
 

neilmac

June 26, 2020, 02:15:17 AM
Somehow I had an A record show up as "parked" in the DNS manager.... ::) Not my doing...godaddy support response to other people with the same problem? You must have given someone else your password... sheesh....
 

whitestrat73

June 24, 2020, 10:12:09 AM
Welcome to the world I left, some years ago....  ;)
 

neilmac

June 23, 2020, 11:40:44 PM
I got logged in :) Still trying to figure out what I messed up so I can't access anything though....lmao
his webmaster thing is for the birds :P :P
I'll figure it out eventually lol Everything was going so well too lol
 

Joom

June 23, 2020, 11:17:24 PM
I've been closing out multiple business websites and telling them they need to find another web person, because I can't keep doing them anymore...  :(
 

Joom

June 23, 2020, 11:15:24 PM
That's strange.  I don't know what the problem might be.  I had to log into GoDaddy today for a business website and didn't have any problem.  Wish I could help, Neil, but there's nothing I can do on your account...
 

neilmac

June 23, 2020, 08:17:09 PM
Interesting...can't seem to log in to godaddy either.....weird-a-mundo lol
 

neilmac

June 23, 2020, 08:16:02 PM
I think I screwed something up lol :P :P
Had the same issue late last night but haven't had a chance to check it out yet :)
 

Joom

June 23, 2020, 02:34:16 PM
Huh!  Neil gave me the link to the new site, and I checked it out yesterday.  Looking good.  But went to look at it again today and can't get there.  What do you think, Neil?

Show 50 latest
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 09, 2020, 03:40:25 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Internet through mains  (Read 5047 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2172
  • Karma: 5
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #15 on: October 20, 2016, 08:59:26 PM »
Just wanted it for audio (wave) file uploads. In Spain, I moved the files to the 'utility' machine to upload.

Shouldn't you be fitting a new water heater/fixing a blower or something....?
 :P :P :P
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Offline Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 4018
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #16 on: October 20, 2016, 09:18:12 PM »
Shouldn't you be fitting a new water heater/fixing a blower or something....?
 :P :P :P

Actually, I was supposed to be working on insulating and sealing up the basement while the wife is away, but I've been slacking busy doing other things...  ::->
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Offline whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2172
  • Karma: 5
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #17 on: October 20, 2016, 09:38:32 PM »
 )(?

 :P :P :P
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Offline Schprocket

  • One day, I will get a Round Tuit...
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Posts: 1647
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
    • Heartat.this
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #18 on: October 21, 2016, 11:25:31 AM »
Internet-over-mains works OK, WS, but you have to remember two things...

1. "Standard" may not be "Standard" - whichever manufacturer you go with, you're sort of stuck with for expansion to other rooms...

2. ... but only on that circuit. Not sure how your houses are wired in the UK (rings mains with fused appliances rather than a meter board with circuit breakers seems to ring a bell...) but here we tend to have at least two power circuits and two lighting circuits on the average sized house. This means that if I plug the EOP converter into the Mains nearest the router, I can only get to half of my house.

Ended up getting sparkies that do data and telecom installs to run Cat 5 through the roof... the missus didn't want to spend for just a couple more points but then she complains when her WiFi craps itself - the WiFi router has a nasty habit of hanging more often (say once every 6 to 8 weeks) because it carries her PC, all mobile devices, and a couple of printers. Silly girl.. but who am I to argue when my stuff all works? :)

If you can bury some 20mm conduit in the ground and don't mind drilling a few holes in walls, copper is always the better way to go. If not, I'd say go with the EOP... just be prepared to run a bit of Cat 5 across the carpet if the shed's on a different circuit... P.S. None of them like power board, they want their own socket.
This is part-BS and part-true. It may work, but rather than be sued by people too stupid to read "may not work with all power boards" most manufacturers won't guarantee they'll work.

Now, if you have a piggy back plug fitted to the power board's lead, that doesn't seem to bother it... done that too :)

J-man's out in the boonies where there's bugger all RFI except whatever he generates and the CIA mind-reading waves that Trump says Obama has aimed at J's house, screwing with his wireless internet... :D

If you live in the burbs and people run 2.6GHz remote controls or even wireless speaker systems nearby, those can swamp your signal. I can vouch for the wireless speaker set since it screwed my own wifi signal - end result, no wireless speakers... And let's not even get into the Ham radio enthusiast with his own satellite uplink - he'll even be screwing with your audio gear if he's being a bit naughty with his transmission power...
« Last Edit: October 21, 2016, 11:33:12 AM by Schprocket »

Love is all you need...

Offline Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 4018
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #19 on: October 21, 2016, 01:00:36 PM »
Good writeup, S.  Lots of good info.  But that's why you have multiple frequencies and channels to play with on wireless.

I'm well away from interference out here, but in the businesses I work with, especially hotels that exceed 1,000 feet in length, there's a lot of interference both from neighboring businesses' wireless and equipment, as well as from internal equipment.  Being able to use both/either 2.4GHz and 5GHz, and set the router's/AP's channel to eliminate most of that interference, among other things, generally allows pretty good service.  Also, forget about B and G these days, and concentrate mostly on at least N if not the latest AC.  Considering, of course, backward compatibility with older devices.

But when bolts comes to nuts, you can't beat a straight CAT5/6 connection when necessary.  There are lots of new toys to use, but being old and set in my ways I always employ KISS whenever possible...  (-!)
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Offline whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2172
  • Karma: 5
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #20 on: October 21, 2016, 06:24:24 PM »
Lots of good info, S, and J......  8)
All breakers, here. Lighting separate. Sadly, the lounge sockets are separate to the rest of the house...... so, looks like wifi.
To be honest, Internet isn't a must, in the studio, just thought it might be nice.
I have a dongle for the TV, maybe that will work?
Tied up with acoustics, right now. Trying to get my sound absorbtion panels in the right places...... Something like roulette....  ;D

 (-!)
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Offline Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 4018
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #21 on: October 21, 2016, 06:46:55 PM »
White, what kind of router do you have?  Brand, model, etc?  And what kind of internet connection?  Cable, DSL, Satellite, Antenna?
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Offline whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2172
  • Karma: 5
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #22 on: October 21, 2016, 07:45:16 PM »
Now you're asking.... LOL

Best send you to see for yourself..... http://devices.dslshop.co.uk/product_details.aspx?idProduct=35

'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Offline Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 4018
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #23 on: October 21, 2016, 08:00:22 PM »
Hard to believe there's a router I haven't worked with, but I've never seen that one.

But, from reading the description it appears to be a pretty standard dual band router.  I can't imagine that, even three rooms away, you're not getting a decent signal from it in your studio.  I would question your wi-fi adapter on that computer.

However, if that's the case, why don't you just get the antenna linked below, set it somewhere in your office (pointed toward your router in the other room), install the drivers, plug it into your computer USB port, and be online?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Outdoor-Long-Range-USB-150Mbps-Wifi-Wireless-Adapter-Antenna-10m-Cable-/121846313372?hash=item1c5e9b319c:g:pScAAOSw5IJWeS7E

If you can't get a decent signal 50 feet away through 3-4 walls with that, something is seriously wrong somewhere...
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Offline whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2172
  • Karma: 5
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #24 on: October 21, 2016, 09:30:30 PM »
Errr.... The studio computer doesn't have a wifi adapter!
That's the whole point of this, wifi or cable...... What meds are you on, Boss....  :P :P :P :P
 )(?
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Offline Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 4018
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #25 on: October 21, 2016, 10:05:22 PM »
 :o :o :o

I don't know how I missed that, but that explains some of the questions.  ::)

I use mini adapters like this all the time in systems:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/300Mbps-Mini-USB-Wireless-WiFi-Adapter-802-11n-g-b-LAN-Internet-Network-Adapter-/181484620068?hash=item2a41538924:g:6xgAAOSwpDdVB2YC

And that would probably work fine for you.  Otherwise, if there's still a question, then the one I linked to first.

In any case, unless you're going to be doing lots of large file transfers between your studio computer and your other computers, then go wireless with an inexpensive adapter.  No question.  Cheap, simple, easy, done...
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Offline whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2172
  • Karma: 5
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #26 on: October 22, 2016, 11:06:53 AM »
OK, so I bought one of these, locally.... http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/1420579.htm
Sorted!  8)
Yup, plenty fast enough.....  ;D

Also, swapped to the new 'puter, swapped to new screen (both work now).  ;)

Now to plane off the bottom of the door, so it'll close over the new carpet, I fitted.....   >:(

Then fit ceiling foam and rear wall panels......  :-X

Then crack a can.....
 (-!)
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Offline Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 4018
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #27 on: October 22, 2016, 11:28:59 AM »
Glad to hear you got it sorted, White.  And yup, when problem solving I'm always a fan of "KISS" and "Occam's razor".  Save the high tech answers for when simple doesn't work.  ;)

New 'puter, new screen, new carpet, ability to close your door, new ceiling and panels......... you're living the high life mate.  Very cool, and good to hear that you're getting settled in.  By next week you should be back to making killer songs again, eh?  8)

And have a can for me...  (-!)
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Offline whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2172
  • Karma: 5
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #28 on: October 22, 2016, 04:39:14 PM »
All panels up and rearing to go...... Gonna get the Printer onto wi-fi next, no room in here...  ;D

Quote
And have a can for me... 
I'm doing that now, Boss!  ~:)
Then I'd better have one for all the other guys here, I guess....  ::)

 (-!) (-!) (-!)
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73