!!

Welcome to Two Track Music

Guest/Visitor, welcome to the Two Track Music forum area.  If you're not yet a member here, just click the Register link above to sign up.  It's free, quick, and relatively easy.

Once registered, you will be able to post anywhere in the forums, create topics, ask questions, show off your music, and collaborate with other members to create a new song or musical piece.

You will also be able to view post attachments, which are usually songs in progress or completed songs.  And, you'll have access to our TTM Articles section, which contains a variety of articles on software, hardware, mixing, mastering, and many other topics.  The forum Search option will also be available to you once registered.

Two Track Music is a somewhat 'laid back' community.  Just some good musicians and song writers hanging out, and having a good time.  We're not a high pressure or fast paced site, we just enjoy kicking back and making some music, and having fun while we're doing it.

If that sounds like your kind of place, please join us.  We'd love to have you in the mix.  And yes, pun intended... ;)

Additional Menu

TTM Shoutbox

Last 15 Shouts:

 

kc

Today at 12:37:56 PM
Hey guys, just posted a recording test clip of acoustic guit. in "works in progress" wasn't sure if that is the correct area to up load to?

KC
 

Joom

July 19, 2019, 03:16:52 PM
 :P :P :P
 

whitestrat73

July 19, 2019, 02:50:37 PM
Maybe just the 'really weird' bit, Boss....  ;D
 

Joom

July 18, 2019, 08:30:26 PM
Does that mean you're really Weird Al Yankovic, Ag?  :o
 

agradeleous

July 18, 2019, 08:13:58 PM
Yaaaaah I'm fat !
That's all may return to your daily duties .  ;D
 

onetrack

July 14, 2019, 10:16:50 PM
Wow. What a day for sport. Intense Wimbledon final bit even more intense cricket final. And we won. Finally. Somehow ;)
 

papaG

July 14, 2019, 06:23:38 AM
After careful consideration, I've learned it was a bass note😲
 

neilmac

July 12, 2019, 10:03:34 PM
Blame GBoy.....you know how he is about perfection....apparently he’s driving back to do it all over because of one bum note.... 8)
 

agradeleous

July 10, 2019, 11:35:49 PM
Porn again  ;D
 

papaG

July 10, 2019, 07:53:13 PM
Good things come to those who wait....😉

I get home in a few hours and should have access to some video.😀
 

Joom

July 10, 2019, 05:47:00 PM
Me too, Dino...
 

Dino

July 10, 2019, 05:45:34 AM
I am still waiting on the video you to may have taken during your visit PG  ;) :o
 

neilmac

July 07, 2019, 09:58:58 PM
Archive and Winners S/C updated :D
You're welcome :P
 

papaG

July 07, 2019, 05:54:19 AM
Had a lot of fun. Thanks Neil 8)
 

papaG

July 07, 2019, 04:57:27 AM
It was the hat.... 8)
Someday I'll tell you what she said when she touched the hat....

Show 50 latest
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 21, 2019, 06:43:21 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Internet through mains  (Read 3701 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2141
  • Karma: 6
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Internet through mains
« on: October 20, 2016, 12:17:20 PM »
I'm thinking of using one of these type things.... https://www.amazon.co.uk/HomePlug-Ethernet-Adapter-200Mbps-Through/dp/B0012NKTAA

Does anyone know if they would inject any kind of interference into the mains circuit?
Obviously, I don't wanna be fighting off hiss/buzz or any other noises while trying to record/mix my latest super hit....  ;D

If there are issues I'll just run a cable, since it's not that far from where the cable enters the house to where I want it. But, it would be a pain in the proverbial.....

So, any ideas are welcome.
Thanks guys!
  (-!)
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Offline RedJoker

  • Manager
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2016
  • Posts: 385
  • Karma: 3
  • Yup, I have no avatar
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2016, 12:32:18 PM »
I use something like this to get Ethernet from one end of the barn to the other.  The frequencies that are REALLY high so you shouldn't have any issue.

For me, it's DSL => Wifi => Wifi repeater in the barn => cat6 from repeater to power line adapter => power line to other end of mains repeater

I put in a ground mounted solar panel system out behind the barn and I'm using all this to get my solar inverter online so I can track / log performance.  As a side effect, wifi covers almost our entire 6.5 acres.  :D

Offline whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2141
  • Karma: 6
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2016, 01:29:02 PM »
Wow!  :o
That's a lot of interconnects, RJ.........  8)

Fortunately, the studio isn't too far from the ethernet source. So, gonna go for it....

Thanks for a speedy response!   ~:)

I want to use a dimmer on the main light, too. But, I guess this might be an issue.... ?
I can always use concealed lights, if that is the case.

Thanks again
Onward and upward.....
 (-!)
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Offline RedJoker

  • Manager
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2016
  • Posts: 385
  • Karma: 3
  • Yup, I have no avatar
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2016, 01:46:32 PM »
Wow!  :o
That's a lot of interconnects, RJ.........  8)

Yeah, it could have been much cleaner with a new network install.  It had been built out over the years piece by piece for different reasons and I just haven't felt like buying what would be required to clean it all up.  I'm just that cheap and lazy.   (!:)

Good luck!

Offline whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2141
  • Karma: 6
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2016, 01:51:21 PM »
Ha, ha, ha......... I know exactly what you mean, Red.  :P

Since this is a clean build, as such, I'm trying to get as much right as I can, before I start using the room. Otherwise, it just ain't gonna get done.... LOL  :-[

Off to buy me a trestle type table, now. Maybe lights...  :-\

 8)
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Online Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 3968
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2016, 02:16:46 PM »
White, what is it you're trying to do, mate?  And how big of a place are you in now?
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Offline whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2141
  • Karma: 6
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2016, 06:05:41 PM »
Trying, Boss? It's almost done..... ROTFL  :P :P :P

I've moved into a 2 bedroom, end of terrace, bungalow, in one of those beautiful English villages, in Suffolk, near Newmarket. The second bedroom, of course, is going to be my studio.  ;D

The router is in the lounge, but I wouldn't mind having it in the studio, as well. Thought I'd use those 'plug into the mains' Ethernet distributors, gotta be better than wi-fi.....  ::)

Setting up my new home studio. The light, currently, is one of those horrid energy saving things. Bright and cold. I looked at some LED spots, today, and a dimmer switch, though, I might add some concealed lights, since the light would be less directional....  8)

Gonna post the 'how I got here' a bit later, just to update those who might be interested.....  ;)

 (-!)
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Online Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 3968
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2016, 06:19:08 PM »
Hmmm........ I guess I don't understand what would be wrong with Wi-Fi in that instance.

I get about 300ft. distance on my routers, and run an average of 425-450Mbps (at 5GHz) at anything less than 100ft.  So I assume you need more than that?
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Offline RedJoker

  • Manager
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2016
  • Posts: 385
  • Karma: 3
  • Yup, I have no avatar
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2016, 06:21:39 PM »

The router is in the lounge, but I wouldn't mind having it in the studio, as well. Thought I'd use those 'plug into the mains' Ethernet distributors, gotta be better than wi-fi.....  ::)

Hmmm........ I guess I don't understand what would be wrong with Wi-Fi in that instance.

I get about 300ft. distance on my routers, and run an average of 425-450Mbps (at 5GHz) at anything less than 100ft.  So I assume you need more than that?

Edit: Joom posted while I was typing.  Ha!

You might want to look into what your internet speed actually is.  In my case, though wifi is slower than hardwire, it's still an order of magnitude faster than my internet.  I'm not moving stuff around on my network, just upload / download / streaming.  That might make it MUCH simpler for you to set up.

Offline whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2141
  • Karma: 6
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2016, 06:35:44 PM »
D/l speed is just under 17M, u/l speed just over 1M.
I just can't be bothered to fit what's needed for wi-fi to the PC..........  ;D
The router is only about 10-12 mtrs from the studio pc, but, there are walls and doors and electronics along the way.

Just found out that the Bass traps, etc were sent to my old address.... Duh! My bad....  :(
Gonna have to pick up the calling card and head off to Cambridge tomorrow..... PITA  >:(

 (-!)
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Online Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 3968
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2016, 07:02:59 PM »
As RJ mentioned, I have most of the main computers hard wired (straight CAT5) because I do a lot of large file transfers, and like the gigabit speed for that.

But if all you need is good internet access, a good Wi-Fi setup is usually more than enough.  I can take a laptop outside, and even through 3 walls and at 100ft. away from the house I get great signal strength (4 full bars).

I'm setting up a system right now for the wife between the two houses (1/2 mile apart) because we live in and have internet at one house, and she's setting up her sewing/quilting rooms at the other house, and needs internet access for her computerized sewing machines.  I'm using two directional antennas, one just came today and the other will be here Saturday.  I do have to cut down a couple trees, but otherwise should work fine...
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Offline agradeleous

  • My stuffs
  • Original
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Posts: 2984
  • Karma: 4
  • Just hangin' here at TTM Upside Down
    • View Profile
    • Ags YouTube
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2016, 07:20:05 PM »
I run off of wifi card w/two cool antenna no issues better then the USB which used for a while ... :)

Online Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 3968
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #12 on: October 20, 2016, 08:11:44 PM »
Unbelievable.  I finally lucked out on something.

As mentioned a couple posts ago, I just received one of the directional antennas I ordered to connect two houses 1/2 mile apart.  Thought about it, and decided to take this one down to the other house and install the driver on her laptop and, just for kicks, check it out.  I took the laptop out to the middle of the yard so I could see the other house, hand holding the antenna, aimed it, and checked connections.  I could see all connections at the other house.  I connected to one, had 4 bars, got on the internet and tested it.  Great.

Then I walked back to the house where the trees were in the line of sight, and nothing.  The trees have to come down.  But......... without the other outside antenna up here yet, I was getting decent signal through 3 walls 1/2 mile away from the routers in the office here.  Unbelievable.  Amazing.  Cool.

When I get the one for here and get it installed, and take the trees down, I should get an easy 5 bars down there.  And the really amazing part?  I tried going cheap first, the antenna I just tested was $21.

Happy guy here.  Now, if my new keyboard worked in Reason, I'd be aces...  (-!)
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats

Offline whitestrat73

  • Still the right side of the grass! :P
  • Global Moderator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2141
  • Karma: 6
  • Don't throw your cigarette butts out the window!
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #13 on: October 20, 2016, 08:26:34 PM »
OK, OK, I yield..........   ~:)

I'll get me one of them dongle things, tomorrow......  ::)

 :P :P :P
'Smile and the world smiles with you!' - Charlie Chaplin
'It's better to die on your feet, than to live on your knees' - Midnight Oil
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=whitestrat73

Online Joom

  • I Am The
  • Administrator
  • Producer
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 3968
  • Karma: 6
  • Old, tired, and ready to jam...
    • View Profile
Re: Internet through mains
« Reply #14 on: October 20, 2016, 08:50:38 PM »
OK, OK, I yield..........   ~:)

I'll get me one of them dongle things, tomorrow......  ::)

 :P :P :P

Wasn't saying that, White.  Just trying to figure out what you need for what you want to do.  And had to mention in there that I got lucky for once...  :P
A few quick and dirty cheaters from the old days, just for kicks...... www.twotrackmusic.com/joomcheats